Sometimes you just have to give up…

Hello Friends!!

I’m not giving up on the blog or Bookstagram or anything like that! Heck, I’m just getting started!!

No, I’m talking about giving up on a book you are reading. Sometimes there are books that you just cannot get into, which is fine! It’s not because the book is bad (or maybe it is) it just could be because it’s the wrong time for you to be reading it.

I had this issue all last week. I had just finished Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard and jumped right into Glass Sword… and then stalled. It took me FOREVER to read the first half of the book. I felt that it was moving very slowly and not a heck of a lot was going on. So, I  decided to shelve it for now and read something else.

I almost wonder if there was actually nothing wrong with the pace of the book but, perhaps, that it was the fact that I had my mind on other books. Books I was more excited to read. I had NO problem munching my way through To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and I am positive when I start Caraval this afternoon that I will be reading well into the night.

Sometimes this happens to me with series, I need a “palate cleanse” in  order to go back and enjoy the rest of the books. It even happened with Outlander!  I could NOT get into MOBY (Written In My Own Heart’s Blood) right away but when I went back to it, it was fabulous!

Does this happen to you? Do you power through a book that’s not quite doing it for you or do you, like me, shelve it and go back to it later?

xx J

P.S. It’s snowing here. Again. It’s March!! We haven’t had this much snow in… oh eight or nine years. Maybe longer. Here in the Vancouver area we don’t get a lot of snow, when we do it’s usually a sad little dusting that is gone in hours. This winter has been insane for us and it needs to stop.

 

Leave a Reply

